EU Responsible Person Cost: €249+ Pricing (2026)
Grüner Baum GmbH's published EU Responsible Person price starts at €249 per year for one accepted low-risk product family. The GPSR sets the legal tasks of the role, but no official service tariff. So compare offers by product scope, risk, included work, add-ons and the right legal route to an EU operator, not by the headline price alone.
How much does an EU Responsible Person cost in 2026?
GPSR does not prescribe a price. Grüner Baum prices the accepted service scope by product family rather than by individual SKU. The figures below are Grüner Baum's published prices, not an EU fee schedule.
| Annual plan | Published price | Accepted standard scope | SKU treatment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | €249/year | 1 accepted low-risk product family | Unlimited SKUs within each accepted family |
| Business | €549/year | Up to 5 accepted low-risk product families | Unlimited SKUs within each accepted family |
| Growth | €949/year | Up to 20 accepted low-risk product families | Unlimited SKUs within each accepted family |
| Enterprise | From €1,650 | More than 20 families, multiple brands or a wide catalogue | Defined in the written offer |
Toys, electronics, cosmetics, childcare products and other products governed by specific EU legislation receive an individual review and quote. A published starting price is not automatic mandate acceptance.
What do other EU Responsible Person providers charge?
There is no EU price list for this role, so the only honest way to show the market is to read what providers publish themselves. Every figure below was read from the provider's own public pricing page on 12 September 2026 and is reproduced together with that provider's own pricing unit, because the units are not comparable. Verify any figure with the provider before relying on it; these pages change without notice.
| Provider | Published price | Pricing unit | Main limit stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| conformitypoint.com | €99–€88 first year, €59–€49 renewal | per product | Bands of 1–5, 6–20, 21–40 and 41–80 products; the lower figure applies to larger catalogues |
| eugpsr.eu | €199 / €299 / €549 per year | per product | Hard cap of 5 products; no grouping rule published |
| easecert.com | €400–€600 one-time | per "product type", 7 criteria | No numeric cap; PPE sits at the top of the range |
| eucompliancepartner.com | From €500 per year | flat company fee | No SKU cap published; the page also states $500–$800 and mixes € and $ for the same figure |
| euverify.com | £490 / £790 / £1,490 / £2,390 per year | per product family, 4 criteria | 5 / 20 / 50 / 100 families; a second region adds £200 per year; 14-day free trial published |
| eldris.ai | £195 one-time onboarding plus £19.95–£249.95 per month | per SKU tier | Top tier caps at 2,000 SKUs; the page describes the onboarding fee as covering all 27 member states |
| Grüner Baum (eugpsr.de) | €249 / €549 / €949 / from €1,650 per year | per product family, 5 criteria | Unlimited SKUs inside an accepted family |
| authorisedrepcompliance.com | £800 / €960 setup plus first year | per product "range" | "Range" is not defined; renewal price is not published |
| trade-e-bility.de | From €1,450, or €1,305 with the published online-enquiry discount | not published | The billing period is not stated on the page |
| 24hour-ar.com | €1,150 / €2,450 / €3,450 / €6,150 per year | per product | Each plan covers one market, so the EU and the United Kingdom are two plans; 5–20% multi-year discounts published |
Nine of the twenty-two providers reviewed publish no price at all and quote only after an enquiry. Four more rank for these searches without selling the GPSR Responsible Person role: one is a packaging-EPR representative, two are cosmetics Responsible Persons under the EU Cosmetics Regulation, and one sells software to Responsible Persons instead of acting as one. Read the scope before reading the price.
Citing this survey: Grüner Baum GmbH, "EU Responsible Person published prices", eugpsr.de, survey date 12 September 2026. Every figure was read from the named provider's own public pricing page on that date. Prices change without notice, so quote the survey date with any figure you reuse.
The German-market names that rank are not all selling the role
A German-language search surfaces a few large names ahead of most providers, and they are not offering the same thing. Of the three that dominate, only trade-e-bility actually takes on the GPSR Responsible Person role: it publishes an EU Verantwortliche Person entry price from €1,450, reduced to €1,305 for an online enquiry, and its ISO 27001:2024 certificate scope explicitly names the authorised-representative activity — a credential no other provider in this survey publishes. Its page does not state a billing period, so the €1,450 is an entry price of unspecified duration.
The other two do not sell the role at all. Händlerbund sells a one-off GPSR check of five example product listings for €79 net, included in memberships from €9.90 a month on a twelve-month term, and publishes no Responsible Person price because the service is not offered. IT-Recht Kanzlei makes GPSR advice a benefit of its €54.90 monthly tier only, capped at three product listings per enquiry, and does not act as GPSR Responsible Person itself; its partner offering for an EU-Bevollmächtigter covers packaging obligations under the EU packaging regulation (PPWR), which is a different regime.
Ranking high in German therefore does not make a page a Responsible Person offer. Before comparing any price, check whether the provider signs the mandate itself.
Why the lowest headline figure is rarely the lowest contract
- The unit decides the bill, not the headline. A €99 per-product fee beats €249 for a single product and loses badly across thirty variants of it. A per-family unit only helps when the provider defines a family in writing; two providers above price per product without publishing any grouping rule at all.
- One market is not the EU. Where a plan covers a single market, selling into several member states — or the EU plus the United Kingdom — means buying the plan more than once.
- Setup and renewal are two different questions. A first-year figure that bundles setup says nothing about year two; one provider above publishes the setup year and not the renewal.
- A one-time fee still has to fund continuing duties. The Responsible Person’s tasks — keeping documentation available, answering authorities, acting on a safety issue — run for as long as the product stays on the market.
- A SKU cap is a deferred price increase. A ceiling of 5 products or 2,000 SKUs turns into a forced upgrade as the catalogue grows.
What is included in Grüner Baum's €249 Starter price?
The Starter price applies only after Grüner Baum accepts the manufacturer, the legal route, the product family and the available safety records. The contract identifies the included products, tasks and exclusions before the Responsible Person details may be used.
| Work item | Starter treatment | Work outside the included scope |
|---|---|---|
| Responsible Person role | Written authorised-representative mandate for one accepted low-risk product family | Another supply-chain route may be required instead |
| Risk and document intake | Initial product risk review, technical-documentation verification and document-gap check | Optional Formal Technical Documentation Audit & Written Gap Report: €129 per family |
| Label or listing check | 1 check per accepted family | No separate label-review fee: the check is included for every accepted family |
| Additional product family | Starter includes 1 accepted family | Above 1 the next plan applies: Business up to 5 at €549/year, Growth up to 20 at €949/year, Enterprise from €1,650 above 20 |
| Document availability | 10-year retention of accepted technical documents | Missing or product-specific evidence must be supplied or commissioned separately |
| Monitoring | Weekly Safety Gate monitoring and regulatory alerts | Product-specific investigation or corrective-action work is scoped separately |
| Authority support | 1 market-surveillance authority correspondence per contract year | Further approved authority work: €125/hour |
The service is not a GPSR certificate. Grüner Baum does not guarantee approval by Amazon, Etsy, Shopify, customs or a market-surveillance authority.
What changes the final GPSR Responsible Person price?
The final price changes when the work or product risk changes. The relevant unit is the accepted product family, not a marketing category or a raw SKU count.
| Cost driver | Usually stays within one family when | Requires separate assessment when |
|---|---|---|
| Product variants | Intended use, basic design, materials, production and safety characteristics remain the same | A material, electrical property, age group, intended use or hazard changes |
| Product-specific law | No additional sector regime changes the evidence or conformity route | Toy, electrical, cosmetic, PPE, chemical or other specific EU rules apply |
| Existing records | Risk evidence, technical file, traceability, label and instructions are current and consistent | Evidence is missing, contradictory or belongs to another product version |
| Portfolio scope | Products fit within the number of accepted families in the plan | The catalogue exceeds the plan or contains multiple brands and legal manufacturers |
| Ongoing work | Included monitoring and one authority correspondence are sufficient | Extra reviews, urgent onboarding, incident work or further authority hours are needed |
“Product family” is Grüner Baum's contractual pricing unit. It is not a separate compliance status created by GPSR, and grouping products does not remove the manufacturer's product-specific safety duties.
Does every non-EU seller have to buy a Responsible Person service?
No. Every product covered by the GPSR needs an economic operator established in the EU. A separately hired authorised representative is only one of four possible routes.
| Supply-chain position | Your EU operator | Is a separate paid mandate automatically needed? |
|---|---|---|
| Manufacturer established in the EU | EU manufacturer | No |
| Non-EU manufacturer with an EU importer | EU importer for the product it places on the market | Not automatically; map the importer's duties first |
| Non-EU manufacturer appoints an EU authorised representative | Authorised representative under a written mandate | Yes, if this is the chosen and valid route |
| No EU manufacturer, importer or authorised representative, but an EU fulfilment provider handles the product | EU fulfilment service provider as the statutory fallback | Not a substitute chosen merely to avoid reviewing the real supply chain |
Only the authorised-representative route is created by a written manufacturer mandate. An importer or fulfilment service provider does not become an authorised representative merely because its address appears on a label.
Read the full guide to the Responsible Person role before comparing prices. The cheaper offer is irrelevant if it assumes the wrong economic operator.
Is €249 per year a fair EU Responsible Person price?
There is no universal “fair price” without a defined scope. A useful comparison tests whether the provider accepts the correct legal role and names the product, records, checks, incident handling, renewal terms and total charges in writing.
| Comparison point | What the offer should state | Grüner Baum's published position |
|---|---|---|
| Legal entity | Registered EU entity, physical address and contracting party | Grüner Baum GmbH, HRB 52165, Oppenheim, Germany |
| Legal route to an EU operator | Why manufacturer, importer, authorised representative or fulfilment provider is the correct operator | Supply chain reviewed before a mandate is accepted |
| Product scope | Named products or families, treatment of variants and exclusions | Accepted families and exclusions recorded in writing |
| Included checks | Technical records, risk, traceability, label and online-offer review | Pre-acceptance gap check plus the plan-specific work above |
| Authority and incident work | Included contacts, response process and extra-hour pricing | One authority correspondence included; extra approved work €125/hour |
| Renewal and exit | Contract period, renewal, termination and record transfer | Annual contract terms disclosed before signature |
| Independent trust signals | Verifiable company record and public customer or platform profile | German commercial register, Trustpilot profile and Amazon SPN registration |
Amazon SPN registration and Trustpilot reviews are trust signals, not product approvals. Authorities and marketplaces keep their own powers and decisions.
When does the annual cost make economic sense?
Use gross contribution, not turnover. Divide the total annual compliance cost by the average gross contribution from one EU order. The result is the approximate number of EU orders needed to cover the annual cost before tax, add-ons and internal labour.
| Annual cost | Gross contribution per EU order | Orders needed to cover the cost |
|---|---|---|
| €249 | €15 | 17 |
| €249 | €25 | 10 |
| €249 | €50 | 5 |
| €549 | €25 | 22 |
For example, €249 divided by €25 equals 9.96, so the tenth comparable EU order covers the annual fee in this simplified calculation. Returns, marketplace fees, VAT treatment, add-ons and internal compliance time still belong in the seller's full decision.
If future EU demand cannot cover the total cost, limiting future EU offers may be rational. That decision does not cancel complaint, accident, recall, document-retention or authority duties for products already placed or made available on the EU market.
Frequently asked questions about EU Responsible Person cost
How much does an EU Responsible Person cost?
The GPSR sets no official service tariff. Grüner Baum GmbH's published annual plans start at €249 for one accepted low-risk product family. That includes unlimited SKUs that share the same safety profile within each accepted family.
Is there an official GPSR Responsible Person registration fee?
No. The GPSR sets no EU-wide tariff or registration fee for this role. A provider's fee is a commercial service price for the product scope, checks, document access, monitoring and authority work stated in the contract.
What is included in Grüner Baum's €249 Starter plan?
The published Starter scope includes a written Responsible Person appointment for one accepted product family, an initial risk analysis and a basic document-gap check. It also includes 10-year document retention, weekly Safety Gate monitoring, one label or listing review per accepted family and one market-surveillance authority correspondence per contract year.
Does unlimited SKUs mean unlimited different products?
No. Unlimited SKUs applies within one accepted product family whose variants share intended use, basic design, materials, manufacturing and safety characteristics. Materially different products require a separate family assessment.
Should a small seller stop selling to the EU because of GPSR cost?
Compare the total annual compliance cost with the gross contribution from EU orders, not with revenue alone. Stopping future EU sales may be rational where the expected margin does not cover the cost. It does not erase duties for products already placed on the EU market.
What do other EU Responsible Person providers charge?
Prices read from providers' own public pages on 12 September 2026 run from €99 per product in the first year to €6,150 per year for a single market. Nine of the twenty-two providers reviewed publish no price at all. The figures are not directly comparable because the units differ — per product, per product family, per SKU tier, per market or a flat company fee — so compare the accepted scope and the unit rather than the headline number.
How can you obtain an exact Grüner Baum price?
Review the published GPSR pricing and add-ons, then send the manufacturer, product list, materials, intended use, target countries, sales channels and available safety records through the product assessment form. Grüner Baum confirms the legal route, accepted product families, exclusions and annual price in writing before activation.
The EU Responsible Person service page explains the mandate and provider comparison. The technical-documentation guide shows which records are reviewed before acceptance.
Official sources
| Topic | Legal basis | Official text |
|---|---|---|
| The Responsible Person role and its tasks; the GPSR sets no service tariff | GPSR Art. 16 | Regulation (EU) 2023/988, Article 16 — consolidated GPSR text as of 29 May 2026 |
| The four possible operator routes (manufacturer, importer, authorised representative with a written mandate, fulfilment service provider) and their tasks | Art. 4(2) and Art. 4(3) of Regulation (EU) 2019/1020 | Regulation (EU) 2019/1020, Article 4 — four possible economic-operator routes and tasks |
| Duties that continue for products already on the market: document retention, complaints, accidents and recalls | GPSR Art. 9, Art. 20 and Art. 35 to 37 | GPSR, consolidated text |
| Commission guidance on the Responsible Person | Commission Notice C/2025/6233 | European Commission Notice C/2025/6233 — business guidance on the Responsible Person |
| Cosmetics Responsible Person, a different role | Regulation (EC) No 1223/2009 | Cosmetics Regulation, consolidated text |
This article explains published service prices and general GPSR duties; it is not product-specific legal, tax or financial advice.
30-Minute GPSR Assessment
Whether your brand is entering the EU market or already selling, eugpsr.de supports you with GPSR gap assessment, documentation preparation, labelling and warning reviews, traceability structure and Responsible Person services.